Nominate for Council

The City of South Perth covers an area of around 19.9km² divided into four wards. Each ward is represented by two councillors and presided over by a popularly elected mayor. 

Councillors are elected for four-year terms with council elections held every two years on the third Saturday in October, for half of the council. Candidates are elected using the first-past-the-post voting system.

Elected members play a vital role at the City working together to implement the community's vision and strategic directions.

Local Government elections will be held on 19 October 2019. Nominations for Council were open from 5 to 12 September 2019.

October 2019 positions vacant

Mayor - term expires 21 October 2023

Ward Councillors

Como Ward - term expires 21 October 2023
Manning Ward - term expires 21 October 2023
Moresby Ward - term expires 21 October 2023
Mill Point Ward - term expires 21 October 2023
Mill Point Ward - term expires 16 October 2021

Following a ward boundary review, ward boundary changes will come into effect from the date of the election.

Nomination process

Nominations closed at 4pm, Thursday 12 September 2019.

For further information relating to the nomination process, please contact Jeff Clark, Returning Officer on 0439 303 541 or email

The Western Australian Electoral Commission is responsible for conducting all local government postal elections in Western Australia. By making the Electoral Commissioner responsible for these elections, the local governments ensure that elections are conducted independently and with impartiality.

Candidate information session

The City of South Perth and Town of Victoria Park hosted an information session for those interested in becoming a local government Councillor at the October 2019 Local Government Elections.

Prospective candidates were given the opportunity to hear about a day in the life of a Councillor, the role of Council, the election process and the benefits to be gained from representing your local community. The evening also featured a presentation by the WA Electoral Commission.

The presentations can be found below.

Related documents