Children's Literature Champions 2020

14 May 2020
Childrens Literature Champions

Literature, reading and libraries are extremely important to us at the South Perth Libraries and we think they’re pretty fun too! 

We recognise that we have some incredible authors and illustrators in Western Australia and we want to support and celebrate how amazing they are so we came up with an idea! 

What are Children’s Literature Champions?

Four fantastic local authors and illustrators who champion literacy, children’s literature and a lifelong love of libraries. This year our champions are:

  • Sean E Avery
  • Cristy Burne     
  • Raewyn Caisley
  • Campbell Whyte 

The 2020 Children's Literate Champion program kicked off softly in March and saw a few delays with COVID-19 but our champions haven’t let that stop them, they have had books launched, new projects announced, digital story times and continued lots of important work.

You'll be able to catch these awesome authors and illustrators at programs and events throughout the year at the City of South Perth libraries including Children’s Book Week, which has been moved to October.

Check out their work, immerse yourself in their books and get to know them in person at workshops and events over the year. Updates and new information about our Children’s Literature Champions will be on the library website. 

Start by: 

South Perth Library